Cochius – self-titled LP

Cochius – self-titled LP front cover
Cochius – self-titled LP back cover
Cochius – self-titled LP side 1

A POW during WWII, Dutch street musician Sigurd Cochius (1916-2001) had an extraordinary life since his escape from a concentration camp in Czechoslovakia – as retold by this blog ; other biographical info from Dutch Wiki. Among other things, he opened his house to drug-addict youngsters, took part to riots organized by Provo activists and made a living playing flute in the streets of Hilversum, his native city. There’s a kind of Cochius official weblog over there.

♫ This is his unique LP, featuring a dozen guest musicians, including Legendary Pink Dots members Bob Pistoor on bass and Niels van Hoorn on percussion, and an interesting pianist named Mark Peters on the first 3 tracks. The album features several long, ethno-jazz-fusion instrumentals over which Cochius delivers semi-improvised spoken poetry, according, I assume, to the philosophy he dubbed “Cochisme” (after Apache Indian chief Cochise). I can’t comment on the Dutch lyrics, but, from Cochius’ tone alone, they seem to be humoristic at times, especially on #2 Spaghetti, and Cochius is often heard laughing at his own jokes. Elsewhere, the music sounds like an indomitable flow of sinewy bass lines and ethereal flute arpeggios.

01 Indianenmars (6:02)
02 Spaghetti (11:04)
03 Intro/Minister (9:38)
04 Persingen (6:05)
05 Nojne Sjiht (1:21)
06 Nick Drake (3:12)
07 De Hommel En De Spin (11:34)

Total time 48:56
LP released by Klaverland Studio, The Netherlands, 1982

Download

* *
*

4 Responses to “Cochius – self-titled LP”


  1. 1 François Dumoulin March 18, 2012 at 2:20 pm

    What a surprise! As a collector of interesting LP’s I bought this Cochius release in Utrecht on june, 22 in 1982!. I still have my pick-up to play LP’s (vinyl as they say nowadays) and I enjoy it. I think I’ve bought the LP direct from Sigurd Cochius himself, but I am not sure of that.
    My wife doesn’t like his talking while playing the flute. In a way I agree, but playing music means being free in ideas, thoughts and way of expression. Isn’t it?

  2. 2 continuo March 18, 2012 at 2:50 pm

    I guess you were visiting the famous Utrecht record fair, right?
    Regarding Cochius, I understand he had a message to deliver in addition to his music, hence the spoken words on this LP, which for me are part of the originality of Cochius’ music. Thanks for your comment, François.

  3. 3 françois dumoulin March 18, 2012 at 6:05 pm

    no, I was not on that fair
    in the 80-ties I was every 2 weeks for my work in utrecht as a psychologyteacher and representant of the association of schools of social work in the netherlands
    cochius speaks on his lp about what he sees and what just comes up in his mind, ordinary things of all day life
    his message is: live as you want, be as free as you can
    he was a marvellous flutist
    and he reminds me the dreams of the sixties, we had as students

  4. 4 continuo March 18, 2012 at 11:43 pm

    Thanks for the info, François. I think I prefer the feedback from a psychology teacher than from a compulsive record collector!


Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 246 other followers

