Steve Moore ‘The Threshold Of Liberty’



Side !
01 The Threshold Of Liberty (9:45)
02 No (8:36)
03 Hermetic Discourse (6:53)
Side ?
04 Nostalgia Of The Infinite (Homage to De Chirico) (7:50)
05 Dream Logic (4:58)
06 The Return Of The Poet (14:56)

Total time: 52:30
Recorded 1982-4. Cassette released by Inner Ear Recordings, 1990

In composing ‘The Threshold of Liberty’ I had no precedents in any electronic or acoustic music I had heard, and I felt free to devise my own logic for it, based on that of surrealist art, and let my imagination do the rest. If it works, it is because I have followed such an ‘inner voice’.
Steve Moore, The ReR Quarterly, vol.1, no.1, 1985

Indeed, Scotish surrealist composer Steve Moore has a logic of his own when it comes to juxtaposing dream-like, vaguely familiar sounds – though we’d rather call it un-logic in his case. No heaven-like, fluffy dreams here, but arresting, para-normal sonic events where ESP and surrealist exquisite corpse technique play a major role. That each side is symbolized by ! and ? only stresses the bewilderment and stupor capacities of the music. In this respect the concluding track ‘The Return of the Poet’ is an absolute, unforgettable masterpiece with unsettling suggestive power on the listener. ‘The Threshold…’ is a collection of electronic and tape music tracks realised at Durham University Electronic Music Studio, 1982-4. The cassette is structured with 2 surrealist paintings. The ! side is based on Magritte’s ‘The Threshold of Liberty’, pictured on top of this post. The ? side with De Chirico’s ‘Nostalgia Of The Infinite’ [+]. The music lies somewhere between those 2 stalwart masterpieces of metaphysical surrealism. See my previous post on Steve Moore. Thanks to Tristan Koreya for this gem.

Download.

11 Responses to “Steve Moore ‘The Threshold Of Liberty’”


  1. 1 Italoplayboy October 17, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    Amazing post & superb blog.

    I’ve read that a lot of music sharing blogs are deleted by wordpress and I’m afraid to be forced to restart my blog at elsewhere, could you tell me about that?

  2. 2 continuo October 17, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    Thanks for your comment. I’ve never heard of any threat on WordPress sharity blogs. Some Blogspot blogs get closed after they published too many Radiohead and Metallica albums. I assume I’m pretty safe from such eventuality.

  3. 3 Italoplayboy October 17, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    Thank you for your quick response, then i think i’m safe too…

    :)

  4. 4 vespucci October 17, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    “I assume I’m pretty safe from such eventuality.”

    Well, one never knows… Maybe this blog will be one of the first being attacked for releasing too much art? In a certain way I’d love to see headlines like these:
    SCANDAL! THE INTERNET GET WORSE EVERYDAY! NOW THEY EVEN BOOTLEG STEVE MOORE! CAN’T THEY JUST STICK TO METALLICA?
    ;-)

    Thanks for putting the tape finally up, continuo. I really would like to see a CD re-release of Moore’s complete works but Chris Cutler once just said “maybe” which probably means “no”…

    According to Mr. Cutler, Steve Moore moved to a place in Scotland with no electricity. Does anybody knows anything about Moore? There are almost no informations on the internet…

    (Just hopping by, with not much time on my hands these days. Package arrived safely – merci! – and I hope I get some mail done next week. – v.)

  5. 5 continuo October 17, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    Ha! Very funny, M. Vespucci. Maybe Cutler won’t re-issue the Steve Moore himself, but any record label is free to buy a licence and release a 2CD set. That’s what Sub Rosa or Important Records do all the time. Appraising Steve Moore on the internet will sooner or later come to the ears of these people and they’ll just send an email to Cutler requesting the licensing price for a 1,000-copies reissue. Don’t you think so? There are so many disposable composers who get a 5CD box set those days, why not Moore?
    Glad to have news from you, anyway. Hope all is well.

  6. 6 rippost November 4, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    Excellent find indeed! Many thanks.

  7. 7 Nicx December 14, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    Great! Thanks a lot for sharing this.
    I ve been searching quite a while.
    Steve Moore’s works are absolutely
    incredible.
    Best wishes

  8. 9 continuo December 16, 2008 at 9:57 am

    Thanks Ostar. I’ll check your links later today. If you have other interesting records to share with us, you’re welcomed to contact me at: teepeesfrp@yahoo.fr

  9. 10 stefan February 4, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    HURRAH! I’m sooo glad you finally managed to find and post this one. Huge thanks, continuo, tristan & ostar. Btw continuo, I may have some other Myriam Marbe for you if you like her music.

  10. 11 continuo February 4, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    Hi Stefan. Glad you enjoy our Steve Moore revival here. I’d definitely be interested by other Myriam Marbe’s records. Please get in touch at:
    teepeesfrp@yahoo.fr


Leave a comment




Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.