Benedict Mason ‘felt/ebb/thus/brink/here/array/telling’ (2004)


SACD Col Legno, 2005

Ensemble Modern
Junge Deutsche Philharmonie
Franck Ollu, conductor

01. #1 – for harmonics and helmholtz resonators
02. #2 – for glass, plastic and metal with air fire and water
03. #3 – for hard wood and high pitched echos
04. #4 – for marimbas, door, brass and clay
05. #5 – for three spaces
06. #6 – for doppler waves
07. #7 – for longitudinal vibrations
08. #8 – for metal tubes with resonance holes
09. #9 – for glissandos quadrobows and copper
10. #10 – for tuning strings
11. #11 – for gongs, drums and cane
12. #12 – for covered airways


The interview with Benedict Mason featured in the booklet can be found here:

British composer born 1955. Music composed for home build instruments, resonant spaces, and high pitched tone generators. Awesome reverbant sounds, to which mp3 does not full justice. Each composition uses a few sounds and let them interact in search of resonances and harmonics. You’ll have to crank up the volume, since the CD’s dynamic is high. But this set of pieces is fantastic. We don’t have a lot of composers like this in Europe. Full mark. A 3mn excerpt is available in real audio on the Donaueschinger Musiktage festival website:



3 Responses to “Benedict Mason ‘felt/ebb/thus/brink/here/array/telling’ (2004)”

  1. 1 gustavo November 10, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    thanks a fucking very lot!!! … if I may say so…

  2. 2 continuo November 10, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    You’re welcome.

  3. 3 hugo October 4, 2011 at 8:12 am

    brother ya no esta el enlace … lo puedes volver a subir gracias desde oaxaca mexico!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


%d bloggers like this: