Peter Van Riper & Georg de Christal – I Am I Am I Am I Am

Peter Van Riper & Georg de Christal k7 cover
Peter Van Riper & Georg de Christal k7 side 2Peter Van Riper & Georg de Christal k7 side 1

Supposed to be a collaboration with one “Georg de Christal” (who he?), this cassette is more probably a regular solo effort, albeit a rare occurrence of Peter Van Riper heard singing along his usual metallic resonances from percussion. Or so it seems listening to side B, since side A was completely silent on my copy of this tape. On Nook & Cranny, Van Riper produces simple chords from low resonance metallic objects, over which he musters a mysterious, wordless incantation that is more mystical than we are used to from previous works.

On a side note, I heard The Kitchen archive project is about to be put online and might include digitized recordings from performances as well as films, pictures and documents. I hope this might include some Peter Van Riper footage since Rhys Chatham told me he invited Peter Van Riper several times to perform at The Kitchen while he was music director of the venue (1972–1973 and 1977–1980). There was even a series called “Dancing in The Kitchen” where contemporary dancer and Van Riper collaborator Simone Forti might have been invited to perform.

[Thanks to Giuseppe for this cassette]

Nook & Cranny (9:10)

Total time 9:10
Self-released cassette, Brooklyn, NY, [1986?]

Download

* *
*

2 Responses to “Peter Van Riper & Georg de Christal – I Am I Am I Am I Am”


  1. 1 Etienne August 6, 2012 at 5:51 pm

    X-mas time in august :)

    Thanks a lot Continuo,
    A bientôt!

  2. 2 continuo August 6, 2012 at 7:05 pm

    Happy holidays, Etienne.


Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


