3 Vi Tre, edizioni di polipoesia – issue #3

3 Vi Tre, edizioni di polipoesia – issue #3 front cover
3 Vi Tre, edizioni di polipoesia – issue #3 spread
3 Vi Tre, edizioni di polipoesia – issue #3 side A

The 3rd issue of 3 Vi Tre edizioni di polipoesia was dedicated to US sound poets, two of them already featured in Charles Amirkhanian’s 10+2: 12 American Text Sound Pieces on Arch Records in 1974, e.g.: Amirkhanian himself and Beth Anderson.

US poet Ernest Robson devised an intuitive system of graphic notation for his poems in which letters’ height, length and position under or above the line indicate loudness, length and pitch. 17 Noises in Testicles of an Old Giant is his most famous poem. Buddhist and astrologer Bliem Kern delivers a mysterious ethnic and shamanist song based on onomatopeia and small percussion. Beth Anderson‘s I Wish I Was Single Again is a playful list of approximate homophonies based on the title. In Amirkhanian’s splendid, no-wave-y The Putts, drum machine and synth noise from an Eventide Harmonizer H-949 both underline rhythmic flow and vocal textures.

01 Ernest Robson  – 17 Noises in Testicles of an Old Giant (1:46)
02 Bliem KernKe Kee Kee Alahboo (2:10)
03 Beth AndersonI Wish I Was Single Again (1:15)
04 Charles AmirkhanianThe Putts (5:18)

Total time 10:28
7inch record released by Edizioni Di Polipoesia, Alatri, Italia, 1983


* *

4 Responses to “3 Vi Tre, edizioni di polipoesia – issue #3”

  1. 1 Luis June 10, 2012 at 8:41 pm

    Here mi radio show, called Cazar Truenos (Thunder Hunt), from Lima-Perú, in a recent edition a special sound poetry in Latin America, today


  2. 2 continuo June 10, 2012 at 9:19 pm

    Hi, Luis. Your radio show looks interesting to me. Will listen to the last episodes in the following days. Thanks for dropping by.

  3. 3 Dan Moxon July 22, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    hey continuo – I’ve been followoing your blog for a while now, you really find some amazing stuff that I would never have heard without you , your research and knowledge of the genres you explore is phenomenal. I was thinking back to an interview I heard on a FMA podcast a while back – I think it was with the guy from mutant sounds. He was talking about not always hereing back from followers , and how depressing that was – and I realised I was one of those never comment just download guys. So I just wated to say thanks, the stuff I’ve heard through you is incredible, its helping me explore new realms and build that into my own work to

  4. 4 continuo July 22, 2012 at 8:31 pm

    Hi, Dan, always nice to hear from a happy reader! Thanks for the kind words and I hope you’ll leave other comments in the future.
    Would you be kind enough to send me a link to the podcast you mentioned?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

