Michel Deneuve – 16 Nouvelles d’Ailleurs

16 Nouvelles d'Ailleurs LP front cover
16 Nouvelles d'Ailleurs LP back cover
16 Nouvelles d'Ailleurs LP side A

Michel Deneuve, born 1955, was a member of Structures Sonores Baschet for 6 years along Bernard and François, before starting a solo career. Deneuve’s solo music focuses on the Cristal Baschet only, for which he developed new playing techniques, as this album demonstrates. Conceived as a library music record published by French company Sysmo Records, a Parisian recording studio as well as a library music company, 16 Nouvelles d’Ailleurs, or 16 Echoes of Faraway, is entirely played on the Cristal Baschet. Deneuve plays the instrument the regular way, vibrating the glass rods with rosin-ed fingers, but also using wooden sticks to resonate the instrument, as well as the occasional bowing technique on metallic or glass parts of the Cristal. Avoiding any trace of virtuosity in favor of varied and exploratory textures, Deneuve creates mysterious and timeless atmospheres sending the listener far away in imaginary places evoked by the LP’s title. The perfect soundtrack to a reading of Jules Verne’s Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea.

01 Narva (2:14)
02 Cuzco (3:26)
03 Ceres (1:44)
04 Antares (5:08)
05 Io (2:10)
06 Kenora (:56)
07 Delagoa (2:03)
08 Cuenca (2:37)
09 Irian (2:29)
10 Saiph (6:09)
11 Kara (2:46)
12 Minerve (1:47)
13 Deimos (2:07)
14 Phobos (3:48)
15 Cephee (2:29)
16 Tsaidam (3:11)

Total time 45:00
LP released by Sysmo Records, Paris, France, 1983


* *


5 Responses to “Michel Deneuve – 16 Nouvelles d’Ailleurs”

  1. 1 Ken August 26, 2011 at 8:25 am

    Wow, fantastic! Another gem! I also follow the Baschet / Lasry sculpture work as well. You have a great ear and a great record collection!

  2. 2 continuo August 26, 2011 at 8:31 am

    Thanks, Ken. The Baschet’s stuff is also a mixed bag, but some of the Cristal-related material is fine.

  3. 3 icastico August 29, 2011 at 5:39 am

    Very Nice. Now I need to figure out a way to get my hands on a Cristal Baschet.

  4. 4 Ictus75 August 29, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    What can I say? This is a rare find. Many, many thanks for sharing!

    Those interested in more info on the Bachet’s and their sculptures should check out Francois Bachet’s book, ‘Les Sculptures Sonores,’ available from Soundworld books: http://www.fmr-records.com/swbooks.asp

  5. 5 continuo August 29, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    I posted the accompanying CD from the book a while back.
    Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


%d bloggers like this: