Andrzej Marko & Andre Mikola – Fly Me to the Sun

Andrzej Marko & Andre Mikola - Fly Me to the Sun LP front cover
Andrzej Marko & Andre Mikola - Fly Me to the Sun LP back cover
Andrzej Marko & Andre Mikola - Fly Me to the Sun LP side A

Andre Mikola and Andrzej Marko belong to the Polish connection on Coloursound. Mikola was a member of Orkiestra PR I TV Lodzi and  Orchestra Henryk Debich, both proto-funky synthesizer efforts with romantic strings a-plenty. Andrzej Marko is today a noted classical music composer and song arranger in the field of vocal music, Christmas carols and Neapolitan songs.

♫ Resplendent with positive energy and radiant optimism, Fly Me to the Sun is a collection of funky and sunny compositions for synthesizer and live instruments like drums, bass and guitar, the latter recalling the style of Harald Winkler-Rauter on The Denny Motion Group’s LP I posted earlier. The wonderful opener Dhamma includes some grandiose piano chords amid floating ambient sounds ala Steve Hillage. On number 9, Osmosis, one of the stand-out tracks on this LP, a mellow funky beat serves as a backdrop for a fine vintage synthesizer solo. To no surprise, the track has been compiled a couple of times on Polish electronic Jazz/Fusion compilations. The closing track, Solar Heating, is less cheesy thanks to an energetic slapping bass and clever drum machine programming, but here as well the synthesizer sends science-fiction traits over a proto-reggae rhythm.

01 Dhamma (3:25)
02 Circulation (3:37)
03 Magic Scenery (5:11)
04 Longing for Tomorrow (3:37)
05 Nocturnal Flowers (3:41)
06 Fly Me To The Sun (3:51)
07 Birth of a Butterfly (3:48)
08 Riding on a Sunbeam (3:56)
09 Osmosis (4:38)
10 Solar Heating (3:41)

Total time 39:24
LP released by Coloursound Library, München, Germany, 1983


.     .     .     .     .     .     .     .     .

More Coloursound delikatessen:
The Denny Motion Group – Image >
Gil Flat – Little Children >
Milan Pilar – NatureSpoiled and Unspoiled >

* *


7 Responses to “Andrzej Marko & Andre Mikola – Fly Me to the Sun”

  1. 1 sljk August 5, 2011 at 10:02 am

    woah thankyou ! from now on i ll be thanking you everytime you put something on … i have been downloading from you for way too long without saying thankyou :) love from the desert. just what eye need for the holy month.

  2. 2 continuo August 5, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    Thank you very much for your kind comments and happy Iftar.

  3. 3 Hanna January 21, 2012 at 5:01 am

    thanks for this!! :D

  4. 4 continuo January 21, 2012 at 5:20 am

    You’re welcome, Hanna.
    Some really nice music on your YouTube page, especially the Lady Nice Roland synthetizer killer mood music, and the Piano free improvisation with the kitty! You’re a gifted keyboard player.

  5. 5 Paul March 1, 2012 at 9:50 am

    the download link doesn’t work?! Please, please, please can you put it up again – I have wanted this album for so long

  6. 6 continuo March 1, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    Hi, Paul. Re-upload requests are handled on the 2012 re-ups page.

  7. 7 Ahmad Jafar July 24, 2013 at 1:12 pm

    any chance this can be re linked? download link seems to go to advertisements.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


%d bloggers like this: