Thoughts on sorting out LPs

LP shelves
LP shelves

Of course, sorting out LP shelves with dividers helps access any record in a matter of a few seconds but, more importantly, also helps balance the collection and figure out exactly what the collection is about. For instance, I only realized how many Swedish records I had when I decided to create a dedicated divider. Additionally, this Swedish section (‘Sverige‘) remarkably transcends the various genres of music I listen to: contemporary, electronic, avant rock, experimental jazz and sound poetry. In a way, it is representative of my music tastes. I shall remember this the next time I’m asked what kind of music I listen to – always a difficult question.

A section should be as specific as possible to be really useful. The “Contemporary” and “France” sections are too large and badly need sub-sections for easier access. I recently moved the Russian and Hungarian LPs out of the Contemporary section and created the Melodyia and Hungaroton dividers, and I plan more label-specific sections in the future. Contemporary Latin American music is my main focus as of late and I plan to steadily expand the section.

The blank divider on the top shelf marks the un-sorted LPs: records I’m not sure to keep or records I’m not even sure where they belong to. Future dividers under consideration are a Children’s records, a Raymond Murray Schafer (as of now, un-filed), a Théatre Sonore for radio plays and I’d love to add a Mechanical music divider.

I wish other bloggers would post pictures of their LP shelves.

* *

17 Responses to “Thoughts on sorting out LPs”

  1. 1 jim April 1, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    best lp taxonomy i’ve ever seen is this . anyways, what i’m really curious about – what single malt is that on yr shelf?

  2. 3 s. borges April 1, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    Next to your vast and awe-inspiring collection, mine is not more than a joke, Continuo. I don’t have the courage to post a picture my rather meager collection.

  3. 4 continuo April 1, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    Hi, Jim. I’m usually into Lagavulin, but this one is a Caol Ila bottle. I favor heavily peated Scotch whiskies during late night blogging sessions.
    Hi, Sergio. A picture of your LP collection, however small, would be interesting, anyway. Send your pictures to :
    teepeesfrp [at] yahoo [dot] fr

  4. 5 love April 1, 2011 at 6:11 pm

    i also found that organizing helped me understand the collection. but its still in the works, and also i didn’t have time for more than a few photos, but this gives some idea.

  5. 6 continuo April 1, 2011 at 7:17 pm

    Thanks, Love. I will post your pictures on the blog in the following days. Thanks for contributing.

  6. 7 Nenad April 1, 2011 at 10:54 pm

    A Hungaroton subsection, wow :D. If Hungarians are as methodical and meticulous about their cultural heritage as their Yugo counterparts are, expect to get contacted from the HU ministry of culture in some 20-30 years when they decide they >do< need a copy of Hungaroton releases in their state archives.

    And on an entirely different matter, you could really move that Club Moral 10" to the Post-Industrial section. Like this:


  7. 8 continuo April 1, 2011 at 11:16 pm

    Ha! Of course you’re right about the Club Moral record and your drawing is hilarious. Thanks. I have one objection, though: the disc is a 10 incher and wouldn’t fit neatly with the larger LPs. As you can see, all 10inches are grouped together, regardless of genre, and I realize it’s all messed out. I guess you just put your finger on the weakest point of my LP categorization. Will have to think about that.
    On a side note: I will attend Club Moral’s Paris performance next week. Maybe I’ll decide to move them to the Incredibly Strange Music section, after all ;D
    Thanks for your comment, Nenad.

  8. 9 M. April 2, 2011 at 8:16 am

    Hey, this is a really fantastic blog – found it thru Lindsay Cooper’s solo work & have been poring over it for a couple of hours now. I don’t wanna derail the discussion, but one request: d’you think you could re-up the score Youth did to that theatrical piece? The link there now seems to lead to the Matfield and the Pond page on Multiupload.

  9. 10 continuo April 2, 2011 at 8:22 am

    Hi, and welcome to Continuo’s weblog. Hope you’ll find many things to enjoy over here. The Youth+Watkins link works fine. Try again later this weekend.

  10. 11 Marc Fontfreda April 2, 2011 at 8:51 pm

    the expedit series from Ikea, what a bargain they are ,
    very robust and cheap as dirt , got mine for less than 100 euros.

  11. 12 continuo April 2, 2011 at 10:13 pm

    Admittedly, my music tastes are more original than my furniture…
    Readers of this blog definitely have an eagle eye!

  12. 13 M. April 4, 2011 at 2:27 am

    Right you are, don’t know what the problem was. It’s really, really good, isn’t it? I expected an interesting obscurity, but there’s some fabulous stuff on there (the Youth/Watkins LP).

  13. 14 roberto bol April 12, 2011 at 10:08 am

    I can see the hat hut records in the France section :)

  14. 15 continuo April 12, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    There are Hat Huts in other sections as well. The label was pretty diverse in the 1980s.

  15. 16 rostasi November 25, 2011 at 6:11 pm

    Thanks for your blog. I’ve just discovered it today.
    It’s great to be re-introduced to these recordings.
    I need to start incorporating some of my collection
    into postings. Since my collection is not catalogued
    on purpose (I use chance operations for listening
    and archiving on multiple TB drives), I may not fit in
    with the other “archivists” here. Here’s a picture of
    about 15% of my collection. It used to be about 10%,
    but I had to begin transfers to drives because of the
    overwhelming amount of space that physical media
    takes up throughout the house and in storage:

  16. 17 continuo November 26, 2011 at 8:16 pm

    Impressive collection, I must say, from what I can guess after close inspection. Hard to believe this only represents 15% of your collection. It would certainly make sense to share some of your treasures on a blog. In the meantime, you’d be welcome to share your thoughts on LP shelves and “chance operations for listening” on Continuo’s weblog: if you feel like sending your writing to:
    teepeesfrp [at] yahoo [dot] fr,
    I’d gladly post the picture and write-up on the front page.
    Thanks for your contribution, anyway.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

