Dave Vorhaus ‘Sleight of Mind’

Sleight of Mind LP front cover
Sleight of Mind LP back cover
Sleight of Mind LP side A

A collection of tracks created on the Fairlight Computer Musical Instrument, this solo LP by Dave Vorhaus further explores the possibilities of the instrument, especially the sampling option (see also previous post). While the A-side is rather pastoral, even cosmic, the flip imaginatively explores different territories where Vorhaus’ whimsical creativity is given (almost) free reign. From John Carpenter’s film music echoes to The Residents-like foolery on The Rhesus Rhythm Band and Concentric Cacophony, it seems Vorhaus’ fancies found a perfect means of expression in the Fairlight. A track like the disturbing #9 Laughing Gas, for instance, is made of a unique sample of someone laughing. File under: imaginative library music.

01 Creation (1:58)
02 Inferno (1:18)
03 Seasons (2:46)
04 Hocus Pocus (a) (2:36)
05 Hocus Pocus (b) (3:01)
06 Evolution (3:14)
07 Midnight Suns (2:45)
08 Powers of Darkness (1:49)
09 Laughing Gas (1:08)
10 Echoes of War (3:46)
11 Counterpoints (a) (1:02)
12 Counterpoints (b) (:38)
13 Ripples (1:44)
14 Repercussions (a) (1:01)
15 Repercussions (b) (1:02)
16 The Rhesus Rhythm Band (1:08)
17 Concentric Cacophony (1:33)
18 Night Skies (1:59)
19 The Devil Rides Out (:51)

Total time 35:16
LP released by KPM Music, UK, 1982


Vorhaus’ library music:
1980 The Vorhaus Sound Experiments, LP, KPM Music
1982 Electro-graphics (w/ D. Bradnam), LP, Music De Wolfe
1982 Sleight Of Mind, LP, KPM Music
1983 Sound Conjurer (w/ D. Bradnam), LP, KPM Music >
1984 The Quest, LP, Music De Wolfe
1985 Out Of The Dark, LP, KPM Music >
1999 Atmos 6: Water/New Age, CD, Carlin #189

* *


24 Responses to “Dave Vorhaus ‘Sleight of Mind’”

  1. 1 newname November 12, 2010 at 9:45 am

    Thanks for Vorhaus Continuo, i listen many kpm but not this one.Very nice.

  2. 2 continuo November 12, 2010 at 9:59 am

    For some reason, I keep stumbling upon Vorhaus LPs these days. I might be lucky or something.

  3. 3 lapino grizo November 12, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    not on megaupload !
    all the best

  4. 4 A. November 12, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    After taking a break from the world of music blogs for almost two years, I’m back at last & posts like these make me realize how much I missed them! Many thanks, Continuo, it’s good to see you’re still there with such excellent and rare contributions after all these years.


  5. 5 continuo November 12, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    Welcome back, A. I try to maintain some unexpectedness on the blog, as when I started 3 years ago.

  6. 6 Carl Howard November 12, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    Bless ye! Dave Vorhaus – not only because of the legacy he represented, but simply for his own abilities – was the last composer of any interest or creativity at KPM.

  7. 7 continuo November 12, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    Not sure I would endorse your bold statement, Carl. I posted other KPM stuff that was great (by Gryphon ex-members) and such a large catalogue has obviously plenty of surprises to offer.

  8. 8 Carl Howard November 12, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    I hope you’re right. I have been more disappointed than anything else I have heard in the 1250-1400 range. All the fire and glory of the Dales, the Mansfields, the Hawkshaws, and the Geesins and Derbyshires gave way – in my opinion – to workaday pabulum.

  9. 9 continuo November 12, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    I guess you’ve just had too much of KPM already. As a relative newcomer to library music, I still have marvels to unearth. Makes me feel young.

  10. 10 Carl Howard November 12, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    Haaa! I can help you youngenate… but you have to get on SoulSeek!

  11. 11 continuo November 12, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    My source for good music is my beloved turntable, mostly. By “unearthing” I meant: digging the thrift stores.

  12. 12 NRC November 12, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    You find this stuff in thrift stores? Wow, you have good luck. I guess the Seattle thrifts get picked over fairly quickly and I’ve never found much to brag about, even with years of trying.

  13. 13 continuo November 12, 2010 at 7:26 pm

    More precisely: flea markets and second hand record stores. All the library music I posted was bought for something like 3 to 6 Euros, that’s 5 to 10 USD. But I admittedly live in a magic city where record sellers have no idea who David Vorhaus is and think their stacks of KPM LPs will never go away.
    You would love Paris, it seems.

  14. 14 newname November 12, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    Yes…Paris and eg http://waxidermy.com/features/mpi-library/
    and many other great French labels.

  15. 15 continuo November 12, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    Very nice page indeed. Thanks for the link.

  16. 16 NRC November 13, 2010 at 12:30 am

    Yes I would love to hit the fleas markets in Paris, absolutely.

  17. 17 house303 November 14, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    Yet another fine Vorhaus library album. Thanks big time!…(-;

  18. 18 continuo November 14, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    Thanks for dropping by.

  19. 19 dispo November 15, 2010 at 9:11 am

    Thanks for sharing!

    For a much less advanced, but very entertainingly silly early use of sampling in library music, check also the “singing” animal crazyness of “Plastic Zoo” by Harry Winkler and Gerhard Narholz, released on German library labels Sonoton and Intersound.
    You might know it from the 365 days project:

  20. 20 continuo November 15, 2010 at 10:03 am

    Thanks. Will check “Plastic Zoo” soon.

  21. 21 Dave November 28, 2010 at 5:29 am

    I just finished reading Bernard Vorhaus’ autobiography in which he mentions that his son David composes electronic music. I didn’t recognize the name but through googling it I found out that I had purchased his first LP “White Noise – An Electric Storm” back in the early 70s.
    Thanks for posting more of his music on your site.

  22. 24 Carlos June 28, 2013 at 7:20 am

    Hi! Any chance to re-up by other ways? File removed

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


%d bloggers like this: