Brigitte Jardin & Claude Marbehant ‘A La Découverte…’

'A La Découverte...' LP cover
'A La Découverte...' LP back cover
'A La Découverte...' side 1

Brigitte Jardin graduated as a dancer in Paris in the early 1970s. During the 1970s, she specialized in educational projects encompassing music, dance and theater. In the 1980s, she studied Acoustics at Paris’ IRCAM, while earning a living as a dance teacher. Between 1977 and 1988, she conceived five landmark LPs for French label Unidisc with music by composer Claude Marbehant (see discography below). Each album has its own theme and each track is based on a specific concept, offering educators a choice of soundtracks for physical exercise, outside world exploration, active listening and rhythm awareness. As usual with Unidisc’s educational records, often conceived in collaboration with French Ministry of Education officials, each disc comes with a detailled booklet explaining the possibilities of each track and guidelines for further uses. The educational value of these records is still praised by French educators today. In 1985, Brigitte Jardin joined Swiss actor Gérard Diggelmann’s acting school for kids in Lausanne, Switzerland, where she launched her “Baby’ Arts” workshop, a concept  for children aged 3 she still works with today. Since 2007, she turned to teaching educators how to implement her “Baby’ Arts” program with children (see official website).

♫ The tracks on “A La Découverte…” are intended as incidental music for physical exercise, drawing or acting. The sounds can also be associated with specific visual clues (pictures or geometric forms) to help the child experience something for which he/she doesn’t have a vocabulary yet. The music helps express or channel “difficult” feelings like anger, sadness or overjoy, and how to handle these situations collectively or alone. Composer Claude Marbehant’s music illustrates or suggests psychological situations with poetic, minimalist vignettes for piano, synthesizer and drums. Some tracks focus on rhythm, some on stop-start games, some on specific moods and you’d want to be a child again to discover the world anew with this music, to marvel at mechanical stairs (#09), clocks (#08) and farm animals (#07).

01 Récréation (1:30)
02 Zoom (:59)
03 Tempi-Vitalité (1:32)
04 Des Hauts et Des Bas (1:22)
05 Stop (1:02)
06 Face à Face (1:34)
07 A La Ferme (1:40)
08 Tic Tac Tic Ding (1:41)
09 Escalators (1:13)
10 Chut ! Bébé Dort (2:11)
11 Question de Temps (1:10)
12 Attention, Prêts ? Partez ! (1:15)
13 Bravo ! (1:38)
14 Dialogue de Sourds (1:00)
15 Variations (1:24)
16 Hi Han ! (1:33)
17 Un De Plus, Un De Moins (1:27)
18 Marto-Legato (1:18)
19 Aller-Retour (1:28)
20 Polyphonie (1:41)
21 Idée Fixe (1:51)
22 Après La Pluie, Le Beau Temps (1:44)

Total time 32:00
LP released by Unidisc, France, 1977


Brigitte Jardin & Claude Marbehant discography:
1977 A La Découverte, LP, Unidisc
1980 Atmosphères, LP, Unidisc (CD reissue, Auvidis, 1998)
1980 Jeux de Sons et de Gestes, LP, Nathan
1983 Baby Tonic, LP, Unidisc
1985 Baby Tonic 2: l’école des sons, LP, Unidisc

* *


4 Responses to “Brigitte Jardin & Claude Marbehant ‘A La Découverte…’”

  1. 1 newname September 22, 2010 at 7:54 am

    Many thanks Continuo for this nice Unidisc album

  2. 2 continuo September 22, 2010 at 8:01 am

    You’re welcome.

  3. 3 Paolo October 28, 2012 at 11:25 pm

    Hi there is 2012
    any chance to re up this z share badongo and megaupload are off and rapidshare gives error.


  4. 4 continuo October 28, 2012 at 11:40 pm

    See the 2012 Re-ups page.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


%d bloggers like this: