Achwghâ Ney Wodei s/t cassette

The members of Achwghâ Ney Wodei (Françoise Boitière: drums, keyboards, vocals ; Didier ‘Higgins’ Copp: bass, percussion, vocals ; Eric ‘Riton’ Sterenfield: guitar, keyboards, percussion, vocals ; Phillippe ‘Wodi’ Royer: percussion, trumpet, bass, vocals) initially met at the Paris Tolbiac University in the mid-1980s, were they also befriended ex-punksters Lucrate Milk. They soon got associated with the artists community squatting in a disused Parisian hospital (Hôpital Bretonneau, hence the name of the squat: L’Hôpital Ephémère). The large squatted building provided visual artists, musicians, actors and writers with working studios, rehearsal space and a very favorable context for artistic experimentalism. Many punk and arty bands were created there between 1985 and 1997, including Bérurier Noir, Lofofora, FFF, Mano Negra, Les Négresses Vertes. Achwghâ Ney Wodei published their first 2 cassettes in 1986. The first was the legendary plaster model of a Citroën DS enclosing the cassette.  Their last release was ‘Triptyque’, a 3×12” produced on New International Recordings by Simon Crabb in 1987, whose unique, handmade cover art was made by 10 French artists including  Xavier Veilhan and Pierre Bismuth.

This untitled cassette is their 2nd and was published by French punk label VISA. Far from a mere demo, the music showcases the intricate interplay of ANW members, aptly negotiating a complex mixture of Ralph Records influences – i.e. bringing The Residents’ stylistic gimmicks closer to  Tuxedomoon’s elaborate art songs. The whole k7 plays with cliches of French culture, including Tour de France on the cover, André Malraux, Jacques Tati, accordion, Parisian slang, etc. Funny vocals, especially from Françoise Boitière, excellent trumpet and accordion playing also contribute to an often hilarious release. Great cassette from Rainier’s collection. Thanks.

01 Impromptu Razz (0:47)
02 Malalam Solom (4:00)
03 Méduse In Love (1:46)
04 Techno Razz (2:32)
05 Malro (5:40)
06 Gege Consi (1:34)
07 Komponium (:31)
08 Crotte De Bique (2:35)
09 Paris Folklo (3:40)
10 Chasse A Courre (:28)
11 Achwgha Ney Wodei (1:53)
12 Tartarin De Tarazz King (3:22)
13 Mais Où Est Donc Passé Ma Chéchia (2:39)
14 Petit Paul (2:25)
15 C’est Du Razz Cuit (:53)
16 Mal O Pied (1:08)
17 Jour De Fête (1:23)
18 Van Deyssel (2:59)
19 La Valse Du Baron Rouge (3:38)

Total time 43:47
Cassette released by V.I.S.A./Androidia Flux, AF 016, France, 1986

Download Option 1 / Option 2


10 Responses to “Achwghâ Ney Wodei s/t cassette”

  1. 1 Scott February 15, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    Now that’s audio art. More and more I believe there are no limits to human creativity, and this post is one reason why.

  2. 2 continuo February 15, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    And some blogs are more limited than others, I guess.

  3. 3 art of losing February 19, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    Thank you continuo / Thank you Rainier.
    Don’t you think that ANW is close to Ptose ?

  4. 4 continuo February 20, 2010 at 3:53 am

    Sure, though ANW is clearly a live act, which Ptôse never was, IMO.

  5. 5 Marcus Staniec February 25, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    I feel one would have to squint pretty hard to see a similarity between ANW and Ptôse.
    Both great in their own right though.
    I loved reading the story to ANW.
    I’m always ready for some arty squat avant punk . . .

  6. 6 continuo February 25, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    Thanks for your comment, Marcus.

  7. 7 art of losing February 27, 2010 at 1:31 pm

    Marcus : the similarity I see is that they’re both “french residents” with their freaky songs. And the unique ANW track I knew before blogging is a Ptose cover :
    Have a nice day.

  8. 8 joe_bilboquet June 14, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    hi, I’m looking for the first Achwghâ Ney Wodei’s record, and I can’t find it… Maybe you know how/where to find this ? thanks & thank you

  9. 9 continuo June 14, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    The 1st LP is available here. The first k7 is nowhere to be found. But the band just launched their official website announcing a reissue of their entire work in June 2010.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


%d bloggers like this: