Audio Arts ‘Accent for a Start’

http://ubu.com/ In conjunction with Ubuweb

Audio Arts 'Accent for a Start' LP front cover
Michael Archer and William Furlong

In addition to the Audio Arts regular cassette series, William Furlong published several records, starting with 1984′s Orchard Gallery LP and The Difference/Head Low 7” single, 1987. The ‘Accent for a Start’ 1987 LP is a little different from other Audio Arts cassettes of mostly contemporary artists’ interviews and performances, like the selection I posted earlier. Here, Furlong and Michael Archer use street interviews with Newcastle upon Tyne passersby to create short Dada-ist sound collages from chopped up voices, drum machine and various loops (from library records, I assume), not unlike some Nurse With Wound’s sound collages. ‘Accent for a Start’ is rather ironical, contemptuous even, but is just hilarious if you happen not to live in Newcastle, on the great divide between North and South Britain, where the accent is strong. The ‘NE’ tag on the cover indeed refers to the far away North East. Prejudices of a Londonite, maybe, but great fun. The track Song for Edwina is also a peerless New Wave anthem.

William Furlong’s Audio Arts project was featured in the Linz Lentos Kunstmuseum exhibition See This Sound (Promises in Sound and Vision), August 28, 2009 to January 10, 2010, Austria. I updated my Wikipedia article with the information from Heidi Grundmann’s essay featured in the catalogue. Visit the official website for See This Sound here.

Audio Arts info, from the Broken Music catalogue, 198901 Accent for a Start (4:02)
02 Canny (3:55)
03 In Relation to What? (3:18)
04 Uniform (3:08)
05 Warm (3:12)
06 Song for Edwina (3:36)
07 It’s About Time (3:07)
08 Canny Place (3:04)
09 Everything You Could Possibly Want (3:01)
10 Friday/Saturday Night (3:13)
11 Buckets of Sand (3:05)
12 Mint (3:17)

Total time 39:30

LP released by Projects UK and Newcastle Media Workshops, Newcastle upon Tyne, UK, 1987

Listen on Ubuweb
Download

Newcastle upon Tyne
4 Responses to “Audio Arts ‘Accent for a Start’”


  1. 1 Graham Wimbrow February 10, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    Hello Continuo! How does one get in touch with you other than this comment form?

    I am one in a group of students at the Maryland Institute College of Art (mica.edu – it is a horrible website), who are starting a radio station. After many years of students attempting to begin broadcasting we have finally succeeded. I recently began reading your blog, specifically your posts on Radio-art, which are directly the inspiration I need right now in light of our own project that will soon be taking off.

    Here is my offer – I am planning on making time on our radio for interesting guests, artists, or otherwise, to host a show or in some way participate with us as we begin to find our footing. I envision this as an invitation to curate a show using our space, the radio. I extend this offer to you, if you wish. I would be enthusiastic if you would accept as your wealth of information and knowledge about radio-art has been astounding.

    Please contact me using my email, graham.wimbrow@gmail.com, I look forward to hearing from you! Do not stop posting this blog!

  2. 2 continuo February 11, 2010 at 7:20 am

    It’s an honour for me that you’d consider my Radio Art posts as a valid introduction to the genre. As for my participation to your radio programs, time constraints doesn’t allow me to contribute much. I’ll be back to you to talk about what you’re looking for and what I can offer. My email is: teepeesfrp[at]yahoo[dot]fr

  3. 3 graham wimbrow August 12, 2010 at 3:25 am

    hi again, I was wondering if you wouldn’t mind removing the above comments. I am making an attempt to clean up my search results off google and I would appreciate it if this didn’t come up as one of the first hits.

    thanks

  4. 4 continuo August 12, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    I’m sorry to learn my Google ranking is a hindrance to you. How come you’re still using your real name to post comments on illegal mp3 blogs, then?


Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 246 other followers

