Peu Importe demo tape

Cassette coverPeu Importe side APeu Importe side BCassette cover info

01 Peu Importe – a (3:00)
02 Peu Importe – b (2:48)
03 Peu Importe – Sale Chtaar (1:40)
04 Peu Importe – Une TV (3:59)
05 Peu Importe – e (1:14)
06 Peu Importe – f (1:29)
07 Peu Importe – g (1:23)
08 Peu Importe – h (4:13)
09 Peu Importe – Air de Repos (1:10)
10 Peu Importe – j (1:11)
11 Peu Importe – k (:37)
12 Peu Importe – l (5:27)
13 Peu Importe – m (1:43)
14 Peu Importe – n (2:53)
15 Peu Importe – o (1:11)

Total time 34:00
Self-released cassette, 1996. Drawing by Nuvish.

Nuvish Mircovitch, clarinet
David Fenech, guitar, voice
Nicolas Jacquin, drums
Raphaël Le Bihan (or Richard Bokhobza?), bass, voice
Julie Faivre, voice on #12
+ keyboards on #12

Peu Importe (Never Mind) was founded in Grenoble, France, in 1993, by David Fenech, Nuvish Mircovitch, Nicolas Jacquin and Raphaël Le Bihan. At their inception, they benefited from the independent art galery and alternative concert venue known as Le 102, rehearsing in the basement and playing live shows upstairs. Their style, characterized by Nuvish’s untamed clarinet playing, a free jazz drummer and absurd lyrics, is elaborated from Rock In Opposition bands like political activists The Ex or Etron Fou Leloublan, to which they borrowed prominent bass lines, square rhythms and deadpan humor. Thanks to the then very active booking agent Zoorganization, from Bordeaux, they toured extensively in France during the  1993-7 years – one show a month on average according to David Fenech (from 1998 interview). They ultimately released 7 tracks on two compilation CDs on the French Amanita label in 1996. This cassette is presumably a demo tape, it was sold at their gigs in 1996 where I bought my copy. It comes without any information, except, according to the contact address, David Fenech had already relocated to Boulogne, near Paris. Thanks to David Fenech for first hand information and being kind enough to let this appear here.



4 Responses to “Peu Importe demo tape”

  1. 1 =O= December 3, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    Vraiment fantastique !



  2. 2 Art Of Losing December 7, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    Oui, vraiment très bien.

  3. 3 continuo December 7, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    Ouh, là ! Mais c’est le coin des Frenchies, ici ! Je vais vite fait vous remettre de la musique bulgare, ça va vous calmer.

  4. 4 =O= December 11, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    Ya Shtiküuldrük mi Shuguün !


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


%d bloggers like this: