Continuumix #5

Continuumix #5 - Palais Des Hautes Herbes

Continuumix #5 – Palais Des Hautes Herbes
01 Speaker Announcement (1:55)
02 Palais Des Hautes Herbes (62:15)

Total time 64:10

/    /    /    /    /     T  R  A  C  K  L  I  S  T  I  N  G    /    /    /    /    /

  • Speaker Announcement: Continuo introduces the mix with a few words and accompanying Jal-Tarang music or जल तरंग (Indian water bowls) by Milund Tilankar – from official website.
  • Jem Finer‘s project ‘Score for a hole in the ground’ is a giant suikinkutsu in the middle of a Kent forest. This is a mashup of some of the sound recordings available on the official site.
  • Rain and thunder field recording made at Puget Sound, Washington State, by Carl Lierman. Thick, realistic layers of raindrops hitting the pavement and surrounding rooftops.
  • Will Menter ‘Slate tinkle’. Self made slate marimba Menter calls Llechiphones, or lithophones, with a remarkably poetic sound.
  • The Earth makes music. Michael Mideke is a pioneer VLF (Very Low Frequency) recordist who coined the term ‘Natural Radio’ in 1989 to describe Earth’s natural radio emissions. He was the first to record whistlers, burts of radio energy caused by lighting storms. Two rare examples of whistler storms recordings are used here (sourced from this archive): San Simeon, California (August 1990) and Paradise Valley, Nevada (October 1989).
  • The Cybraphon is a kind of steampunk mechanical instrument created by the Edinburgh-based collective FOUND (Ziggy Campbell, Simon Kirby and Tommy Perman). It makes beautiful sounds like a regular 19th century music box. The track used here is titled ‘Aeolian Ode’.
  • Crystal clear field recording made on a foggy day on the Felixstowe beach by Simon James French. From his blog.
  • Formerly known as electroacoustic project Toy Bizarre, French Cédric Peyronnet retained his real name for his ‘K146’ field recording endeavours. In 2006-08, he documented an entire river (the Taurion river near Limoges, central France) with field recordings collected along its way. I’m using 2 of his recordings:
    – Gentioux-Pigerolles, 2006 [+]
    – Gentioux-Pigerolles Le Luc, 2006 [+]
  • ‘En Face’ is an excerpt from the 1976 ‘Clouds’ LP, by Swedish electronic music composer Lars-Gunnar Bodin (b.1935). Refined electronic tones mingle with Peyronnet’s river recording.
  • ‘Suite for 4 Trombones in Quarter-Tone System, Op. 72’ by Czech microtonal composer Alois Hába (1893-1973).
  • Alain Daniélou ‘Ahata Anahata (excerpt)’, 2006, played by Igor Wakhevitch on the Sémantic Daniélou keyboard, a synthesizer created by French musicologist and Indologist Daniélou (1907-1994).
  • Birdsongs recorded by Belgian field recordist Philippe Vilain. The track is called ‘Matin des oiseaux’ and is uploaded on his website, among many other great outdoors recordings.
  • Antoine Schmitt and Jean-Jacques Birgé created the ‘Nabaz’mob’, an orchestra of 100 Nabaztags, electronic wifi enabled rabbits. They make great shows and wonderful music. The kids love ’em!
  • Benedict Drew, The Balloon Episode, an excerpt from an Unter Radio show on Resonance FM. Drew and his assistant conflating 150 rubber balloons and making all kinds of strange noises with them.
  • ‘See you in Budapest!’. Kraftwerk audience noise from live recording, Paris, 2002 – Hungarian fans who run the website.
  • Rain and thunder at Puget Sound, slight return. Field recording by Carl Lierman.
  • Mirra Alfassa (aka Mirra Richard, 1878-1973) became The Supreme Mother of Sri Aurobindo’s Ashram in Pondichery, India, in 1952. She launched there an International Centre of Education and founded Auroville, the City of Human Unity, in 1968, 10kms North of Pondichery. During the 1950s and 1960s, she improvised on reed organ on important occasions, especially every New Year’s Day. This is an excerpt from ‘New Year Organ Music of 1955’, from the archived recordings at the Ashram’s official webpage (11 hours worth of music!).
  • The Lamelo-skud is part of a self-build instruments collection by the French music collective H.A.K. Lo-Fi Records. It has a thumb piano glued on a vinyl disc and recorded via the cartridge’s pickup, with additional sound effects. The demo track was created by Denis Mc Carty [+].
  • Field recordings of dinosaurs by Jean-Luc Hérelle on his groundbreaking CD ‘Jurassic Soundscapes’, Frémeaux & Associés, 1995. Electronic renditions of the dinosaur’s whereabouts. Mp3 from Rummage Through The Crevices blog.
  • Jal-Tarang music again, this time by Tomoko Sauvage and her special water bowls. Track ‘Making of a Rainbow’ from her debut CD ‘Ombrophilia’ on and/Oar. And what does Ombrophilia means, by the way? ‘caracterized by large amounts of rainfalls’, says the dictionary. I knew there was something about rain!

11 Responses to “Continuumix #5”

  1. 1 Ttai September 30, 2009 at 11:22 am

    Very beautiful last piece.

  2. 2 Nenad October 1, 2009 at 12:09 am

    All-together rather well and worthwhile: sound-wise it is really interesting and conceptually carefully thought of [not that I expected anything less], but I especially loved the intro :)

  3. 3 continuo October 1, 2009 at 1:50 am

    Thank you both. I really wasn’t sure about this intro, so I left it as a disposable mp3. Tomoko Sauvage is really amazing, a perfect conclusion, but also openning new perspectives (to me at least).

  4. 4 Sonolor October 3, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    Thank’s a lot for this really nice pearl

  5. 5 continuo October 3, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    Note I actually discovered Will Menter in your own book “Chercheurs de sons”. So, thanks, really.

  6. 6 Denis Mc Carty January 12, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    Hello, I discover this compilation accidentally (by chance) and it is a pleasure for us (with H.A.K.) to appear here, nice sounds collection, pleasant & homogeneous mix, great ! Don’t hesitate to contact us >


  7. 7 continuo January 12, 2010 at 11:41 pm

    Hi Denis, glad you enjoyed being mixed between The Supreme Mother and dinosaurs ;D
    I already contacted H.A.K. when I posted the wonderful Gosses de Tokyo.
    Thanks for dropping by.

  8. 8 Denis Mc Carty January 12, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    Wow ! I hadn’t seen this chronic ! Excellent ! I made follow,
    thanks again

  9. 9 Jonathan Canady January 8, 2012 at 8:56 pm

    Great mix!

    I am a big Igor Wakhevitch fan. Any ideas where can I find the full recording of Alain Daniélou’s “Ahata Anahata”?


  10. 10 continuo January 8, 2012 at 10:10 pm

    As far as I know, there’s no available recording of the Daniélou–Wakhevitch collaboration. I found this excerpt on the web.
    Thanks for your comment.

  11. 11 Jonathan Canady January 9, 2012 at 12:29 am

    That is a pity. Thank you for the reply.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


%d bloggers like this: