Continuumix #3



Continuumix #3 – The vinyl holocaust

An homage to the black record in remembrance of the vinyl holocaust perpetrated by Sony Music Corporation, Japan, 1982-1988. No apologies for deliberate nostalgia and over-sentimentalization to be found herein.

01 Prologue (6:26)
02 Part I (29:50)
03 Part II (39:09)

Total time 76:26

Download the 140Mb zip file via Sendspace, DepositFiles or Megaupload.

/  /  /  /  /   /  /  /  /  /  T R A C K L I S T I N G /  /  /  /  /  /  /  /  /  /



  • Gianni Safred ‘Last Rain’ from the ‘Futuribile: The Life to Come’ Folkways LP 1980. I’m using a loop from the website’s sound sample.
  • Leandros Ntounis ‘Big train passing, New Orleans May 19th, 2008’. Leandros Ntounis is a field recordist from Greece. “At the end of Conti Street to the Woldenberg park, a big train passing to slow with 2 engines and 106 cargo cars.” (from Soundtransit) Unrelated picture.
  • CloudTheTank ‘Vinyl Haters Note’, video on YouTube, 2007.

.   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .



  • Mudboy ‘Whirl Loops’ from the ‘Hungry Ghosts’ 2008 LP. Mudboy is a young american musician playing modified electric organ and church organ.  I discovered his music in The Sound Projector magazine last year and was encouraged to order a handfull of his releases, which came complete with gorgeous artwork and cryptic annotations.
  • Annea Lockwood, sheeps from disc 1, tr.#2, an excerpt from ‘A Sound Map Of The Danube’ 3CD set, Lovely Music, 2008. The project was of course to document water sounds in various points of the river, but I chosed animal sounds because they’re so striking – and as a possible reference to the mighty ‘Chill Out’ mix by KLF.
  • Radikal Satan ‘Circa Cinco’ from the 2LP-set ‘Au Froid Qui Fait Rougir’, Les Potagers Nature, Bordeaux, 2008. The most ambitious release to come out of the French underground last year was Radikal Satan’s magnum opus ‘Au Froid Qui Fait Rougir’, a double-LP full of argentinian duende, South American Surrealism and voodo references.


  • Ron Kuivila ‘A Keyboard Study’ from his LP ‘Fidelity’, Lovely Music, 1985. Kuivila is a Continuo favorite from his inclusion in Tellus issues. This early LP is a cornucopia of circuit-bending and modified synths. Thanks to Joseph Nechvatal for this one.
  • Exorcism of Anneliese Michel (1976), mp3 from blog. Michel was a young German woman whose rather impressive martyrdom is well documented on the web.


  • Isao Tomita ‘The Great Gate of Kiev’ from ‘Pictures At An Exhibition’ LP, RCA, 1975. Tomita set Mussorgky’s masterpiece to electronic sounds in this fine LP.
  • Christian Marclay ‘The Sounds Of Christmas’, LP on Villa Magica Records, 2008. Funny to see Marclay returning to a Swiss label, 15 years after his legendary duo with Günter Muller on For 4 Ears. And yet another masterpiece from the turntables’ wizard, this time mixing from a collection of Christmas tunes records. More info here. [Click thumbnail for larger picture]

.   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .



  • André Jolivet ‘3 Poèmes pour Ondes Martenot et Piano’, 2LP, Disques Adès, 1980. Jeanne Loriod is playing the Ondes Martenot (with her sister Yvonne on piano) on this Jolivet sonata from the 1950s. Note spectacular use of low keys to produce striking bass sounds. Jeanne was arguably the Jimi Hendrix of Ondes Martenot.
  • Max Jacob ‘Gloire, Cambriolage ou Révolution’, read by Alain Cuny, 7” on Disques Adès, late 1960s. Famous French actor reads this Max Jacob prose poem from ‘Le Cornet à dé’. [Click thumbnail for larger picture]


  • Dick Tracy ‘Tokyo-Ga’ soundtrack to Wim Wenders’ film of the same name, LP on Disques Du Soleil et de l’Acier, 1985. Dick Tracy was a trio of musicians led by Laurent Petitgand, the composer of numerous Wenders’ soundtracks. See The Thing On The Doorstep for more DT LPs.
  • Siegfried Kessler (1935-2007) ‘Looking Out’ from ‘Corps et âme’ LP, In and Out label, 1981. Piano solo music recorded live in Angoulême Theater, 1981. A member of trio Perception during the 1970s, French pianist Kessler also played with Magma’s Yoshko Seffer. On this enchanting gamelan music track, he’s recorded live at the piano through a ring modulator, elaborating on John Cage’s Sonatas And Interludes. [Click thumbnail for larger picture]


  • Vitamin B12 ‘Pet Pup’ from ‘Heads Vol 8 – Wrong Notes’, self released LP, 2007?. Vitamin B12 (real name Alasdair Willis) is the Mark Pawson of vintage vinyl sampling. He uses his huge LP collection to build semi-abstract, elaborate mixes from cheap electronic sounds, library music gimmicks or even  jam sessions with his own free jazz quartet (Willis plays saxophone). He is presented here with a series of percussion sounds from library music LPs, some electronics and violin.
  • Association Internationale des Souffleurs ‘De l’air’, live performance, Galerie CDEx, Montréal, Canada, April 2008. Striking recording from a students happening at Québec university art gallery, the UQAM (Université du Québec à Montréal). Radiolist doesn’t provide further details, but the event obviously included fireworks and shouts from numerous people. They know how to have fun at the Université! [Unrelated picture – Click thumbnail for larger picture]


  • Junior Homrich & Brian Gascoigne ‘Eagle Break’ from ‘The Emerald Forest’ soundtrack, Varèse Sarabande LP, 1985. Brazilian Junior Homrich is on percussion (clay pots, body percussion) and Gascoigne on synths.
  • Quintron ‘Frogs’ from ‘The Frog Tape’ LP, Skin Graft Records, 2005.  New Orleans, Louisiana organist Quintron uses one of his modified electric organs to raise a poignant frog songs soundscape, a gorgeous yet artificial evocation of Louisiana’s swamplands and bullfrogs.

7 Responses to “Continuumix #3”

  1. 1 Lucky May 18, 2009 at 9:10 am

    I can see how much you put your love of this music into this – enormous!

    Thanks especially for the hint about Marclay’s new project which I didn’t know, thanks too for the inclusion of the oddball Mussorgsky interpretation by Isao Tomita (my entry into classical music when I still was in school!). The exorcism track is really disturbing, nothin I’d like to hear when my family is around, quite contrary to the sheep or train field recordings!

    This one for me is the real deal, where the presenter becomes the creative force – merci bonjour!

  2. 2 twinkle May 18, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    This a marvelous and eerie planetary collegium of musical sound. Congrats.

  3. 3 Scott May 18, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    Looks like another royally grandiose compilation. A pre emptive thanks!

  4. 4 twinkle May 18, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    This a royal audio scumbling. Bravo!

  5. 5 Gentress Myrrh May 20, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    Another excellent collection of wonders! I’ve really been enjoying your posts (yes, I’ve been another mostly silent internet visitor…haha).

    Thank you for generously offering these gems!

  6. 6 Mark S May 26, 2009 at 2:53 am

    Beautiful work

  7. 7 Tanakan August 16, 2012 at 9:36 am


    Thanks for your great work !
    Would it be possible to re-up this mix n°3 ?
    Thanks a lot.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


%d bloggers like this: