Ayato, Hake & Jake Hole ‘Gosses De Tokyo’

01 Générique (1:42)
02 La Roue (1:52)
03 Vendeur De Saké (3:05)
04 Jeu Set & Match (1:42)
05 Terrain Vague (4:41)
06 Assa (2:14)
07 Chemin D’école (2:48)
08 Ecole Armée Bureau (3:25)
09 Ça Tire Aux Flancs (1:40)
10 Bagarre (1:57)
11 Sales Gosses (5:07)
12 Blip (3:17)
13 Mauvais Œuf (4:24)
14 Reghop (2:11)
15 Essence De Pouvoir (6:05)
16 Images Qui Bougent (1:09)
17 L’employé Fait Le Singe (1:15)
18 C’est La Kata (16:06)
19 Prendre Conscience (1:29)

Total time 66:00
CD-R released 2007 by H.A.K. Lo-fi Records [+]

Ayato: turntable, guitar & charengo
Hake Hole: guitar, bass, computer
Jake Hole: computer, sound effects, keyboard
Satoko: voice

Incidental music written for Yasujiro Ozu’s 1932 film ‘I Was Born, But…’ (in french: Gosses De Tokyo), this new soundtrack is intended for live screening events of the japanese silent masterpiece. H.A.K. is a musicians collective from the Orléans area (center of France), releasing online albums and CDrs of experimental electronic music, live improvisations (including sessions with Damo Suzuki and Albert Marcoeur [+]) and composing music for silent films by Chaplin or Buster Keaton. While many musicians across the globe have tried their hands adding their music to this film, the french trio of Ayato, Hake and Jake Hole succeeds in incorporating fresh ideas and a contemporary take on this classic. Samples from various sources (french prog rock band Ange, japanese traditional music, the Akira soundtrack…) keeps the music lively and multi-dimensional all the way. Good guitar and bass parts courtesy Hake. Slow rhythms, colorful samples. Hard to tell who is playing what in these intertwined live instruments, samples, electronics and turntables. Pictures of a ‘Gosses De Tokyo’ performance and sound samples can be found here.


5 Responses to “Ayato, Hake & Jake Hole ‘Gosses De Tokyo’”

  1. 1 a. September 24, 2008 at 7:36 pm


    now, let’s hope they drop by around here…

    ciao && thanks

  2. 2 continuo September 24, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    I’d like to see them perform along the film as well. I’m sure they’d love to be invited abroad! Thanks for commenting.

  3. 3 ayato January 18, 2010 at 11:10 am

    hello, many thanx for the blog (i love the picture/collage on top! who made it?).
    It makes a long time we haven’t been rehearsing “gosses de Tokyo” but We’re still looking for places to perform this beautiful movie …
    We’re also performing the fabulous movie “FREAKS” from Mr Tod Browning and very soon “The Unknown” (T.Browning as well).

  4. 4 ayato January 18, 2010 at 11:11 am

    ohhh! I forgot…many thanx ////////////ayato

  5. 5 continuo January 20, 2010 at 12:13 am

    Hi Ayato. Very excited to hear your Tod Browning soundtracks. As for header’s artist, look in the ‘About’ menu above. Hope to hear more from you soon.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

%d bloggers like this: