Out Of Standard!! – Italia 2

01 Evitaxal ‘In Between’ (4:52)
02 Christina Kubisch/Roberto Laneri ‘Didjeriduo 1985’ (8:29)
03 Christina Kubisch ‘Ocigam Trazom’ (5:59)
04 Luca Miti ‘Serenata II, Di Passagio (incontri)’ (6:56)
05 Riccardo Sinigaglia/Mario De Leo ‘Moto Music’ (5:28)
06 Raffaele Serra ‘Shades And Drumbeats’ (3:47)
07 Allessandro Bruno ‘Extract From E.N.O.’ (3:02)

Total time 38:33
Cassette released 1986 by ADN Tapes, ref. ADN CC4

Out Of Standard!! was a cassette series published by milanese ADN Tapes between 1985 and 1987, showcasing experimental music from Germany, France and Italy respectively. The music’s high level of quality on this one speaks volumes as to the whole series quality standards. Evitaxal was a Roberto Marinelli side project during 1984-85. His main alias was Laxative Souls aka LXSS, an industrial-electronic project starting as early as 1980. Marinelli also ran his own label: Multiple Configuration. The track he contributes here is based on an electronic drone with added peripheral sounds and synth loops, with some reminiscences from german krautrock and home-tapers like Enrico Piva or O Yuki Conjugate. Christina Kubsich (b1948) is a German sound installation artist who is widely regarded as a sound art pioneer. On track#2, she is teaming with didjeridoo player and overtone singer Roberto Laneri, who published a legendary LP as Prima Materia in 1977. On their ‘Didjeriduo’, grass roots didjeridu playing and primitive vocals by Roberto Laneri are augmented with electronic frequencies and quiet flute playing by Christina Kubish. When coconut (!) player Walter Maioli enters the scene, the whole affair gets pretty disorienting. A very good track. Kubisch’s solo ‘Ocigam Trazom’ is for sampled wine glasses and electronics, an hommage to Mozart’s Magic Flute. Luca Miti (b1957) studied baroque flute and piano. He interpreted some of Alvin Curran’s compositions for piano and contributed vocals on the latter’s ‘Canti Illuminati’, 1982. He is also said to have played with Throbbing Gristle in 1982. His ‘Serenata’ included here mixes ambient synth washes with lively field recordings from an Italian narrow street, for a very pleasant aural contrast. A painter and a composer, Mario De Leo released his first LP ‘Suonata Situazione’ in 1977. He’s teamig with a Continuo favorite Riccardo Sinigaglia for a musique concrète composition based on an Aermacchi motorbike sounds only. A Study for Motorbike in the true concrète tradition. The final tracks by Raffaele Serra and Alessandro Bruno are synth industrial-ambient efforts. Alessandro Bruno played on Alvin Curran’s Canti illuminati as well. Interestingly, several participants to this musica sperimentale cassette will also take part to the Doubling Riders 1987 double-LP, namely: Christina Kubisch, Mario De Leo, Raffaele Serra and Riccardo Sinigaglia. 20pp PDF booklet included in the zipped file.


5 Responses to “Out Of Standard!! – Italia 2”

  1. 1 Margot September 16, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    Thank you for this one! When I lived in Italy I was very used to buy stuff directly from the ADN catalogue.



  2. 2 continuo September 16, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    Sounds cute.

  3. 3 daniel70 September 16, 2008 at 11:53 pm

    Thanks for this – and the other stuff, in particular the Herbert Distel ‘exclusive’ i have culled from your always state-of-the-art blog, information- and otherwise!

  4. 4 continuo September 17, 2008 at 7:10 am

    Glad you enjoy what’s on offer here, Daniel.

  5. 5 Bodhi Amol March 17, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    Hello,i was looking for Christina Kubisch and found this-i#m curious about the duo with Lanieri.But one error is in the description:Nobody could have played with Throbbing Gristle in 1982 since they were disbanded the year before and i found no trace of such a cooperation in the standard book about them by Simon Ford:”Wreckers of Civilization”.But thanks for your fine blog!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

%d bloggers like this: