Craig Burk ‘The History of Decency’

A-The History of Decency
01 Happy To Be Serving (1:09)
02 Fawn Mouth (0:46)
03 The Bullet Train (1:12)
04 We’ve Got Clearance (0:45)
05 Can’t Say Can’t (1:00)
06 Noted With Rolling Eyes (0:56)
07 Let It Turn On (1:00)
08 Even With The Angles (1:05)
09 Three Cheers For Life (1:03)
10 Look For Presence (1:07)
11 Within A Specific Region (1:04)
12 Save It And Surprise Me (1:05)
13 Actively No Apologies (0:57)
14 Too Many Wavelengths (1:12)
15 Might As Well Take The Proverbial (0:53)
16 The Latest Classical Favorite (1:11)
17 Abide With It (0:56)
18 Grip The Big Chain (1:05)
19 Flip Her On Great (0:47)
20 The Whole Great Unravelling (1:01)
21 Now The Noose (0:45)

B-Out To The Various Edges
22 Dress Rehearsal Stampede [instrumental] (0:55)
23 Admit The Murmuring (1:08)
24 Alien Qualities In Blotches (0:52)
25 While Ants Ate Lunch [instrumental] (0:57)
26 Tugging With Christened Force (0:52)
27 Special Part Of Backdrop (0:55)
28 Obedient Squids [instrumental] (0:52)
29 Embarrassment For Ripening (0:43)
30 Reasonings Laid Out (0:52)
31 Superman At Home [instrumental] (0:54)
32 Separating The Common (0:49)
33 Building To Indicative Cheers (1:03)
34 Its Special Magnet [instrumental] (0:56)
35 With Allness Of Light (0:44)
36 Out To Magnificient Specimens (0:49)
37 Past Epitome (0:47)
38 Amphibian Chef [instrumental] (0:54)
39 To Be Drawn (0:39)
40 Pale In Darker Fashion (0:58)

Duration: 37:10
LP released 1986 on Illusion Production (IP027)

Craig Burk: voices, guitar, bass, trumpet, miniature harp
Jack Fetterman: synths, drum machine
Dan Rosen: synths, casiotone, drum machine, percussion
Robert James: tape (on side A)

The most disorienting song album I can think of, the 2-folded ‘History of Decency/Out to the various edges’ Craig Burk LP is like a web of miniature poetic songs, a mixture of false starts and abrupt endings. So much so that when you think you’re in the middle of a song, you’re actually at the end of it. The songwriting doesn’t help either, with its undecipherable, almost aleatory accompanyment, angular rhythms and atonal keyboards. The instrumental tracks on side B sounds like outtakes from ‘Forbidden Planet’. The whole album is a tour de force in self-restraint song writing. It might help if you consider each side as one long track pulverized in multiple particles. Craig Burk’s first LP was posted here.



7 Responses to “Craig Burk ‘The History of Decency’”

  1. 1 asect_dsect August 19, 2008 at 2:04 am


    I know this isn’t the best place for “orders” but I’m looking for Bill Fontana’s amazing “Harmonic bridge” CD released by Tate Modern (as I remembered..). I’ve been searching this album for almost 2 years now & I’m desperate. According to my knowledge there’s no longer the CD in the Tate shop even but maybe it’s exists somewhere in the net..

    Thanks in advance for any hints to get it!!

  2. 2 continuo August 19, 2008 at 6:16 am

    I’m afraid I can’t help you with this request. An excerpt from this was included in the ‘Sound Art’ Book+CD I posted the other day, but have no idea where to buy the Tate CD. I also posted an unreleased Fontana sound work, ‘Arche Sonore’ as broadcasted on french radio (link). Did you look on US mail orders?

  3. 3 Ankh August 19, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    Very nice. Thanks Continuo. I found something for you. Probably you know that


  4. 4 continuo August 20, 2008 at 6:46 am

    Thanks, Ankh. I wasn’t convinced by what I previously heard from Jandek -a live recording I think. But I’m trying the one you posted.

  5. 5 vespucci August 20, 2008 at 9:25 am

    Hello, asect_dsect –

    as for that Fontana CD, you may try to contact the brilliant Gelbe Musik (‘Yellow Music’) in Berlin which is actually more a gallery than a record shop and specialized in such sound art records:

    Gelbe Musik Record Shop/Gallery
    Ursula Block
    D-10719 Berlin

    Opening hours: tue-fri 13-18.00, sat 11-14.00

    Phone: +49 30 211 39 62

    If they don’t have it maybe they can point you at least to another address. (Sorry, they don’t run a website.)

    Another idea might be to ask the a-Musik shop in Cologne:

  6. 6 craig burk November 14, 2008 at 12:48 am

    Hi, This is Craig Burk. Anybody interested in my CD?

  7. 7 continuo November 14, 2008 at 1:04 am

    I am interested. Do you suggest buying it directly from you instead of Amazon? Let me know the price+postage to France and a PayPal adress if possible. My email:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


%d bloggers like this: