Tamia & Pierre Favre ‘Blues For Pedro Arcanjo’

Music submitted by Gamilan. Thanks.

01 Traumbaum (6:59)
02 Ceux du Soleil (4:31)
03 Noon Moon (4:25)
04 Poco a Poco (5:18)
05 Chant d’Exil (7:51)
06 Blues for Pedro Arcanjo (7:27)
07 Sommeil de Pierre (2:33)

Total time: 39:07
LP released 1983 on T Records, Gemini (T-Gem 1003)

This is Tamia and Pierre Favre‘s first LP as a duo. Drummer Pierre Favre is building elaborated textures on cymbals and assorted percussion, a kind of klangfarbenmelodie for drums, with tonalities ranging from the exotic to the ritual. Singer Tamia is displaying her magic, out of thid world, en-chanting vocals. Totally idyosyncratic music. For more info, see my previous Tamia & Pierre Favre post.


7 Responses to “Tamia & Pierre Favre ‘Blues For Pedro Arcanjo’”

  1. 1 Margot July 21, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    Rare musick from Tamia? Here I am :)



  2. 2 continuo July 21, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    A witch getting along an enchantress makes a lot of sens, indeed.

  3. 3 Gentress Myrrh July 22, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    Wow! I can’t wait to get home and download this one. Recently heard Tamia’s first lp and was amazed that I hadn’t come across it sooner, since it is so close to the type of vocal acrobatics I love so much.
    (Thanks for your earlier kind words regarding my artwork, by the way! I really appreciate it…)

  4. 4 continuo July 23, 2008 at 7:07 am

    Speaking of ‘vocal acrobatics’: did you give a try to the Maja Ratkje?

  5. 5 Gentress Myrrh July 23, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    Indeed! I was lucky enough to see Maja Ratkje perform here in Seattle a couple of years ago (with FeMail), and have enjoyed all of her recordings I’ve come across since then. Thank you for posting the live set!

  6. 6 Dave M August 27, 2008 at 3:46 am

    I was lucky enough to see them in concert a couple of years after this LP was released – amazing show. I was so impressed, in fact, that I named my cat after her. 8-)

  7. 7 mehran farahmand February 21, 2010 at 2:42 am

    Dave M. Yes…you were/are very lucky to have seen them perform together. I love both tamia and pierre favre. Pierre’s drumming is like reciting poetry…a good poem.
    I buy their LPs anytime I see one (which is seldom)…so, if anyone interested (and foolish enough to sell), I buy yours :)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

