Rongwrong ‘The Story Of Alfons Czahor’



01 The Story Of Alfons Czahor side A (22:50)

  • Zawiązanie (Commencement)
  • 1920
  • Czahor
  • Borzobohaty

02 The Story Of Alfons Czahor side B (20:19)

  • Dajna II
  • A Moc Błagadarności Czahoru…
  • Aphonia
  • Miesjce (The Spot)
  • Rozwiązanie (Confinement)

Maciek Piaseczyński,
Marcin Kamieniak,
Piotr Gałczyński
+vocals: Ania Pajuk
Cassette released: 1994.


A polish band from Lublin, Rongwrong had several releases on Obuh Records in the 1990s. Obuh also released cassettes and records by Za Siódmą Górą, Schistosoma, Księżyc, Atman, Noise Maker’s Fife, If, Bwana, Stilluppsteypa, etc… ‘The Story Of Alfons Czahor’ includes orthodox church chanting, chorale traditional song, birds singing, various noises, obscure hushed voices, a permanent electronic hiss and heavily processed keyboards drones. Very intense music from start to finish. At the end of the decade, this kind of music will be called dark ambient. Anyway, this would suit some of Bruno Schulz’s darker stories perfectly – and the dog in the picture above is so Schulz! The cassette came with an insert with a story in polish and english about Alfons Czahor, an imaginary character possibly created by Czarnej Hanczy – scan included in the .rar file. And of course, Rongwrong was a periodical edited by Marcel Duchamp in 1917 – see MD Studies Online Journal .

Music being continuous, I didn’t even tried to sequence tracks. The CD version, released in 1995, has a different mix and track sequencing, additional material and quite different music altogether. So I believe this cassette can be considered not reissued at all. Here’s the CD tracklisting:

1 Zawiązanie (Commencement) – 1920 (11:14)
2 Czahor (6:24)
3 Borzobohaty (4:11)
4 Dajna II (3:33)
5 A Moc Błagadarności (7:17)
6 Aphonia – Rozwiązanie (Confinement) (5:18)
7 Ephiphonema (11:00)



2 Responses to “Rongwrong ‘The Story Of Alfons Czahor’”

  1. 1 p. somniferum January 16, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    Very nice. Thanks for all of these above.

  2. 2 continuo January 16, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


%d bloggers like this: