Arsenije Jovanović – Works for radio



01 Invasions (1978) 13:45
02 Resava Cave (1977) 12:35
03 The Island of the Dying Donkeys (1988) 20:10
04 Ma Maison (1993) 19:40


CD released on La Légende Des Voix, 1994

Serbian composer born 1932 in Belgrade, Serbia, now living in Croatia, Arsenije Jovanović has been active as a theatre director and stage director for Belgrade and ex-Yougoslavia theaters since the 1970s. He additionaly composes music for theater, film and radio. His works for radio earned him many international prizes. Spanning his entire carreer as a sound composer, this CD offers nonetheless an impressive style and quality consistency. He creates his music from organic sounds like low rumbles and drums, breathing and voice, using objects eg: bottles used like flutes, pieces of wood used like marimbas. So no synth here, but more of a sound performance for each piece, involving ‘actors/singers’ and slightly processed concrete sounds, with more or less a neo-primitive mood. The way Arsenije Jovanović let human voices scream and moan as if free from the boundaries of civilization is typical and reminds me of Dubravko Detoni, a composer born in Zagreb, Croatia, in 1937, founder of Acezantez Ensemble, whose recording output is mainly issued on Jugoton. Additionnaly, I guess performers on this CD were all actors, hence the theatrical aspect of the first 3 tracks, sounding like a ‘theater of voice’. The last track ‘Ma Maison’ (My House) is the most electroacoustic on offer here, build upon heavily processed concrete sounds recorded in the composer’s home. It was commissioned by french national radio.

Booklet notes reprinted on this page.


6 Responses to “Arsenije Jovanović – Works for radio”

  1. 1 Jo January 10, 2008 at 12:07 am

    You can listen to “Roadside Tombstones” here: and many other radio/sound art works here:

  2. 2 continuo January 10, 2008 at 8:28 am

    Thank you very much, Jo. New American Radio is a great resource. If you know of any other radio art resources on the web, feel free to point us toward them.

  3. 3 Adam Eleven January 14, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    @ Jo

    Thanks for the amazing link! is another fine resource.

    @ continuo

    Many thanks, I’m a big Jovanovic fan. Check out Deutschlandradio Berlin ( which regularly premieres his latest soundworks in their radiophonic show on Friday mornings 00.05h (also available as a good audiostream).

  4. 4 continuo January 14, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    All right Adam, I’ll check for more Jovanović.

    I have an mp3 of “Roadside Tombstones”, as recommended by Jo, if anyone is interested.

    Any new post on your Orpheus Records soon?

  5. 5 Sandra Nogic August 30, 2009 at 8:17 am

    Dear professor Arsenije Jovanovic,
    here is your student Sandra Nogic, and unfortunately I was in Rovinj only 2 hours making photos because I am on post graduated studies of graphic design on University of Applied Arts in Belgrade, and it was hot in Rovinj, my ear was wet and I ruin my stomach because of sea food, so I did not want you to see me in that condition, but I was begging chef of restaurant in Rovinj to say hello to you, he knows you, and I saw Pula, Rovinj, Porec, Rijeka, Opatija.., and I am amazed; I can send you my photos and my screenplays that was on site www. and my first pictures I exposed on site, so please write to me your e mail address so I can send you my work and of course would like to write to you,
    yours sincerely,
    sandra nogic

  6. 6 continuo August 30, 2009 at 9:07 am

    Hi Sandra, I’m not sure this is the best place to reach M. Jovanović.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

