Doxa Sinistra ‘Conveyer Belt’

ADN Tapes 15 – TRUM0026




Dutch electro cassette on legendary italian label ADN Tapes. Doxa Sinistra members Hanjo Erkamp and Brian Dommisse ran the Trumpet Tapes label at the time. They were also members of Ende Shneafliet and Thromboh. While usually not my cup of tea, I find this release quite listennable, due to the precise and luxurious choice of electronic sounds and the use of vocals & found sounds on side B. At times reminiscent of early Lassigue Bendthaus (Uwe Schmidt’s electro industrial project of the 1990s), at times reminding french duo Die Form. Well I like that one, though there is a chance I’m being partial to ADN Tapes here.


6 Responses to “Doxa Sinistra ‘Conveyer Belt’”

  1. 1 dmtls January 3, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    Happy and creative 2008 continuo!

    Nice share! From time to time I enjoy listening to minimal synth / electro stuff. ‘The other stranger’ is a real killer. This put me in the mood for more, time for those flexi-pop comps and related releases to re-emerge from the vaults..

    Please not that there will be much, hopefully, Hermann Nitsch on Merzbau starting a little later in January.

    Oh and here is a request for you. Do you have anything by Sebastian Gandera? I am looking for his work with little luck. I have managed to obtain two cassettes and a split release featuring him, available online at zns tapes []. I think there is also a split cd release [Gandera / Klimperei]. Anything you might have to share would be of interest to me.

    once more all the best for the new year!

  2. 2 continuo January 3, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    A happy new year to you too, man. Thank you very much for your kind wishes.
    I do have some Sebastian Gandera material. His first cassette is planned for posting on contiuno in the following days — I just bring it back from my parents home!
    Additionnaly, I have a CD for which I’ll send you a link, as I don’t wanna publish it here.
    I still have to catch up with your Christmas posts. I’ll be a regular visitor on for this year as well, no question.

  3. 3 M June 17, 2008 at 11:21 am

    This tape will be out on vinyl for the first time soon on Dutch label Enfant Terrible (that also released other Trumpett archive material). See here:

  4. 4 continuo June 17, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    Interesting news. Thank you.

  5. 5 Nim March 13, 2012 at 12:14 am

    Great album i’ve just discovered. The Other Stranger is killing me.
    Big thumbs for sharing these forgotten pearls

  6. 6 continuo March 13, 2012 at 7:51 am

    This cassette has been nicely reissued on LP by Enfant Terrible.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

